Innovate Iowa

Past Speakers

David Y. Norton

Company Group Chairman, Global Pharmaceuticals
Johnson & Johnson
press photo

David Y. Norton is Company Group Chairman, Global Pharmaceuticals for Johnson & Johnson. In this position he is responsible for leading the development of our strategic growth agenda, including our strategy for licensing and acquisition, and ensuring alignment to it by our global strategic functions, R&D and the Commercial organizations.

He began his Johnson & Johnson career in 1979 as a product manager for the company’s affiliate Janssen Pharmaceutica in Australia. He advanced to international product manager at Janssen’s Belgium headquarters in 1982, returning to Australia in 1985 as managing director of Janssen Australia. In 1988, following the consolidation of all of the Johnson & Johnson pharmaceutical businesses in Australia and New Zealand, he was appointed sales & marketing director for the combined company, Janssen-Cilag.

In 1990 Mr. Norton returned to Europe and was named vice president of International Marketing for the Janssen group. Four years later he returned to Australia to assume the post of managing director of Janssen-Cilag Australia/New Zealand. In 1997 Mr. Norton joined Janssen’s U.S. headquarters as vice president of sales and marketing and then was promoted in 1998 to president of Janssen Pharmaceutica. In 2001 he was promoted to the position of company group chairman for the pharmaceutical businesses in Europe, Middle East and Africa and then was named company group chairman for North America and Canada. In 2006 he was appointed to company group chairman, Worldwide Commercial and Operations for the CNS, Internal Medicine and Virology franchise.

Mr. Norton is a member of the Board of Directors at Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America (PhRMA) and serves as their Treasurer. He is also a member of several of their executive committees. Among his outside activities, Mr. Norton is a member of the Board of Directors of the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention as well as the Alliance for Aging Research.

Advisory Board Members

Jay Byers
President, Greater Des Moines Partnership

Tom Swegle
President, MedCara Pharmaceuticals

Elliott Smith
President, Iowa Business Council

Dr. Andy McGuire
Physician and Business Leader

Robert Riley, Jr.
Iowa Innovation Council

Dr. Rob Denson
President, Des Moines Area Community College

Joe Hrdlicka
Executive Director, Iowa Biotechnology Association